Taiwan reopens borders, grants visa-free entry to selected countries

September 15, 2022 | busybee_devteam

Starting Sept. 12, Taiwan will resume visa-free entry for more than 60 countries, excluding the Philippines and other Asian countries. The Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) announced on Sept. 5 that visitors from the United States, Canada, New Zealand, Australia, Europe, and diplomatic allies will be granted visa-free entry with a quota of 50,000 inbound passengers per week. It will, however, maintain its three-day quarantine requirement for travelers. Taiwan relaxed its COVID-19 restrictions as 99% of the 5.3 million domestic Omicron variant cases recorded since the beginning of the year exhibited no or mild symptoms. The CECC stated in a press release that the decision to reopen the country’s borders had been made after a comprehensive assessment to promote international social and economic exchanges.
© Skift
The visa-exempt entry grants 90 days duration of stay to more than 40 countries while only 30 days duration of stay for Belize, Nauru, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent, and the Grenadines. Countries that are temporarily suspended are as follows: Chile, Dominican Republic, Israel, Japan, Republic of Korea, Nicaragua, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Brunei, Philippines, and Russia. The full list of eligible designated foreign countries with visa-exempt entry in Taiwan can be viewed here. CTTO: Via Nicole-Ang, The Philippine Star

Essential Hacks to Elevate Your Travel Comfort!

3 October 2023

Step-By-Step Guide To Travel To Hongkong

19 December 2022

Recent Changes of Entry Procedures to Japan starting October 11, 2022

10 October 2022


23 September 2022